Show passwordHide password

Log in

Do you really want to create a new entry?

Offices and unitsDemographicsPartiesRegionsSettlementsPlacesPeopleArticles

Create new

Duhok (governorate) • דהוכ / דוהוכ • دهۆک • دهوك‎‎ • Dîhok

دهۆكدهوك Duhok (Syriac ܢܘܗܕܪܐ Nohadra).

پارێزگای دهۆكەمحافظة دهوك Duhok Governorate is divided into seven Districts. The name is after its center, the city of Duhok.

Dahuk (also Dohuk or Duhok) is one of the governorates of Iraq. It is in the north of the country. Its capital is Dahuk city. It also includes the city of Zakho, which has at various times served as a checkpoint for the border with Turkey. Prior to 1976 it was part of Ninawa Governorate, which was called Mosul Province.

During the 1991 Persian Gulf War, the capital was liberated from Saddam Hussein's forces by the Kurdish Peshmerga. Dohuk is currently thriving under the Kurdistan Regional Government. On May 30, 2007, Dahuk was handed over to local Kurdish authorities by Coalition forces as part of a three province handover. link

Qubad Pasha castle

Kesta remains

Armishet castle

Ruins of Derabeen

Peshekhabir, Remains of Betas

Ruins of Dornakh

Remains of Ibraheem Khalil

Pera Rabanka (Peshock)

Pera Sheik Yousef

Sanat castles

Geli Barikh castles

Sulaman Sendi castle

Istablan caves